Isopropyl Alcohol instead of DeNatured Alcohol

Has anyone used Isopropyl Alcohol instead of Denatured Alcohol to wipe down Epoxy resin in between coats? Is it better?

I wouldn’t do it.  I’m no expert, but I think you could create your own set of problems if you do.  I’m thinking your coat of Epoxy will “cloud up”.

)))

Better?  No, cheaper yes

isoproply alcohol is either 30% or 9% water and I have had the surface go cloudy then require scotchbrite and water and once or twice 400 grit and other times no issues whatsoever.

Humidiy present during cure seemed to  a big factor in this post wipe cloud up. rather than experiment to figure out exact  influencing variables,  I just don’t let IPA touch recently hardened epoxy.

I’ve used it though the 91% with little issue, but not wiping weave for a fill coat.  I mainly use it when i do not want to use gloves or it is all I have handy.

As far as wiping non surfboard objects pre epoxy, I find the DNA can clean what the IPA cannot.

Thanks for the replies.

We used Isopropyl on electronic equipment because it doesn’t leave residue. Denatured is supposed to leave a harmful residue. I may try a test and see.

My daughter asked me to get some rubbing alcohol (IPA) so I told her I had denatured, but she said she wanted the Isopropyl. I actually think it may cost more for the same volume. I also don’t like the smell of IPA.

Seems that all DNA is not the same depending on the denaturants chosen.  

I’ve used 91% iso for years to wipe down pre gloss and it works great. Never see any residue and it evaporates quick right after I do a good wipe.  

That’s good to hear. I’m going to try it. Not sure if I’ll make it a regular thing.

Dawn Dishwashing Liquid.  Keep it simple.

Sorry to revive this, but I have read lots of threads and wanted to ask this…

I am using poly only, no epoxy, so after sanding the laps and nose grinding etc, i usually wipe with a rag with acetone on. Is that ok, or should I be using denatured alcohol too?