Advice on my first board build

Hello everyone,

My name is Dallas and it’s my first time posting here, though I’ve been reading for a few days now. I’m a relatively beginner surfer looking to build my own board and I could use all the advice I can get! I’m 6’2" tall, size 11 shoe, weigh about 220lbs (though I’m looking to take that down to around 200) and am a little out of shape, but surfing is helping that.

I’ve been riding an 8 foot soft top for the past few months and it’s great fun, but I’m looking for a new challenge, something more maneuverable but still not too hard to paddle, and honestly something that looks cool haha. From all my research I’m thinking that a fish is probably what I need. Shortboard but pretty stable and easy to paddle, bouyant enough to float my weight. I’m open to suggestions here though, is a fish the right move for me down from an 8 footer? I have snowboarded and skateboarded all my life (34 years old now) so I have the feeling and idea of board sports in my head and have progressed pretty quickly with surfing. Got the paddle and pop up pretty consistent now, working on turns.

Well, all that aside, I thought instead of just going out and buying a new board (can’t really justify the price right now anyhow) I’d try to make one myself. Watched dozens of hours of youtube, read a ton of threads here and on green light surf supply info, and I think I’m gonna go for it. Here are the issues: