"Edge" Boards vs Hulls/Tri Plane?

Hi everyone, I’m new here, been reading the forum for a long time but this is my first time posting. I’m a crappy surfer and even worse shaper, but this seems like such a cool community. I’d love to learn as much as I can here and hopefully be able to contribute some of my own experience too.

Was wondering about everyone’s opinion of/experience with “edge” boards. Seems like a lot of the hull crowd has really embraced the design. On the hulloholic instragram page, there’s a video (dated December 19th, 2018) of someone riding a 10’9" Andreini “edge” on Kelly’s wave. It looks just unbelievably lively for a board that size. 

I’ve also heard that edges tend to lose speed coming out of turns. Others have said that you can accomplish an effect similiar to the edge using a tri plane bottom with sharp corners.

I’m also interested in this claim from Andreini’s website: “works in all conditions even chop and wind.” Could it be true? Living in southern California, I would love to be able to stay out and catch a few waves in relatively empty lineups after the winds start to pick up and scare everyone away.

So what’s the deal here? Is edge just a trendy new thing? Would one be better off surfing a hull or tri plane bottom instead?

“Is edge just a trendy new thing?”

Maybe more like a trendy old thing that is simply in a phase of being recycled? I’m not saying it’s invalid, just that it’s something that is experiencing some renewed interest and marketing efforts. If you are anywhere near San Luis Obispo, Ca I have a 9’5" ‘Greenough Design’ fun gun edge board you can try.  Best way to judge is to ride one for yourself and see if it works for you.

Here is an article about edge board theory…

Thanks for the article! 

“Near” is a relative term I guess, I’m down in Long Beach. Looks like about a four hour drive. But you never know! 

How do you like the board?