About Mini Simmons size and concave.

Hi.

I am a surfer who lives in Korea.

I am very interested in Mini Simmons and I hope to be able to make it.

5’6", 170 pounds, 37 years old, longboard intermediate, but shotboard beginner.

My surfing spot has a small, mellow wave of 1 to 3 feet.

I already have a 6’4 soft-form board for bubbles, but I’d like to add mini-simmons to the quiver for better fun.

OK, I know how to decide the size of the mini simmons to be 4-5" smaller than height.

Unfortunately I am very short and I think 5’2" is too small for my skill. What is the correct length and width?

When looking at the minisimones template, the classic has a flat concave.

However, when I searched the articles of the forum here, I saw many people recommending a single large concave, or flat to 1/3 vee, or single to double.

Can you tell me the secret of the concave?

i’m not good at english, so please reply with easy words if possible.

thank you.

If you’re 5’6", a 5’2" simmons sounds about right. I’m 5’10" and ride a 5’0" type simmons with no problem. As for my bottom contours, I made my simmons from the front of an old longboard, so it had concave in the nose leading to flat going to vee in the tail. That combo works well for me, but I made my tail smaller than a traditional simmons so it might not be the best for the wider, traditional simmons tail.

The fist board that I made was a mini Simmons, 5’7 x 22 x 2 3/4 with a really wide tail. Im 27y, 6’1 and 190lbs.

The boad has single to a double concave that fades to a vee near the diamont tail. The next one will be smaller, like 5’4 and maybe less wide, but for sure with more vee area and a more pulled in tail, because most of days here the waves are not that long. So I dont have much time for cruising.

But if your waves are mellow, but long, you should not have a problem with a more “classic” mini.