Ekstrom - Repair, refurbish, or restore?

I’m trying to get some good opinions on what to do with an old board.  Obviously opinions are like you know what, but I stll like hearing what some of the veterans have to say about repairs vs refurbishment vs full restoration.  I have an old Ekstrom hull and it isn’t in terrible shape, but the rails nose and tail have some older repairs that need help.  Is this puppy going to be worth more just to patch up and surf, or is there potentially some value in it if a more intensive refurbishment or restoration was the course of action?

I’m no expert, but I don’t think there are too many Eckstroms around.  That being said, I don’t know that it would ever have the value of some of the more collectible boards.  If it were mine, I’d make any necessary repairs and color match as best you can, clean up/redo any dodgy past repairs, wet sand and polish.  As you said, there are lots of opinions, but I’m of the school that after too much of a restoration, the board is no longer the board it was originally.  Obviously, some boards are beyond a simple refurbishment and a full restoration may be the only way to go.

I’m of the school that after too much of a restoration, the board is no longer the board it was originally

I agree with this. I have fallen down the rabbit hole of fixing up a few gnarly dings and then next thing I know I’m restoring the entire board. Every time I get sucked into this trap, the board ends up looking ‘okay’ but the weight is all off and I end up asking why I didn’t just fix the dings and be done with it.