First board

I got this eps blank for free so I’m taking the plunge at my first board. The blank is 8’8 and I’m going for a 7’6 egg. I hear eggs are a good place to start and my quiver lacks one. Is 7’6 too short for an 8’8 blank? Can I go shorter? How do I know where to trace my template in the blank, so that my rocker can be proper?

I’m thinking soft rails to a hard rail in the tail. I’m thinking flat or single concave to a V in the tail. Does anyone suggest one or the other? I’ll typically be surfing this in beach break. 

Does anyone have any recommendations on nose and tail rocker? 

Sorry for all the questions, I’m a complete beginner when it comes to shaping, but very eager to learn!!

https://imgur.com/a/9pbQl4Z

From my own experience, I used a little too much nose rocker and abiut the right tail rocker in my egg which was 7’2. I has about 5 in the nose 2 1-4" in the tail, used for beach breaks. It’s great in the bigger stuff with some shape, and in the smaller stuff but misses out a bit in the shoulder to head and a bit when the waves are softer. I would go more like 4 1/2 nose 2 1/2 tail if you rider shorter boards.

Flat too v allways works, slight concave would also be fine. Hard edge from about 18" before tail. I wouldn’t go too soft in the rail unless you want this for smaller days only

All you questions are to be found here if you just take some time and study the site. positively, there is gold to be found here.

the Egg…look at one. why would the creator call it an egg? my idea is because everything flows, all curves flow into eachother. even from deck to bottom.

maybe not the best choice for a first time board building project, sorry. theres alot going on in that design. just my opinion. go for it! :slight_smile: