Alternative to Tubercles : Multiple AoAs Fins or Shell-Fins

This is a concept I have been working with for 3-4 years. A different way to induce counter-rotating vortexes, similar to the humpback whale’s tubercles. It has the advantage of not catching the leash. These are back quads (fronts coming soon).

The leading edge ondulates so the foil’s angle of attack varies by 5 degrees. The front pair of quads have a lower frequency but still 5 degrees of amplitude. Without going into the science, the effect is similar to tubercled fins, smoother stall in exchange of a lower maximum lift. 

I make no claim of lightspeed-hyper-space-vortex effect, I am just exploring possibilities, looking at nature and computer charts with equal awe.

Points for creativity!        Now, is there a real world ride report?        I’m sure it works, but does it work ‘‘better?’’

I’m impressed.  Have you experimented with toe-in?  Would love a ride report.

all the best

…looks pretty good.

In my opinion we do not have enough guts on most waves and skilled surfers to have a design that actually enhances what just we have. I think the simple test is to ride them in smaller gutless surf then in the same session change the fins for others with the SAME area, size; cutaway, with an 80/20 foil conventional shape and see. Very possible nothing noticeable.

This hand foiler’s mind is blown.

Works of art.

I can see them shedding a leash easier than a tubercled fin, which basically cant, but I could still see it getting stuck in some situations.

I’ll guess the undulations make it act like a bigger fin.  Wonder if it makes the passing water too ‘busy’? 

I thought MrMik’s tubercled fins would be too busy too, but the only ones which felt draggy were those with more numerous smaller tubercles.  The others only feel draggy when dragging a lot of kelp or grass,  At least on a singlefin  longboard.

I like the raked ‘spitfire’ ish template too.

“It’s all been done before”, or: