how to fill the gap?

hello.

i just found this site a few days ago because i decided to start repairing some boards we have around. i was looking for an alternative to microballons and found the solution with the inside of menstruation pads - amazing.

i am new to surfing (about one year) and even more new to fixing them but manually able. last year i broke this cheap softboard (decathlon) and already tried to fix it once but that time i used polyester to glue the wood and pu-foam (the one in cans) to fill the gaps - didn’t last long. now we have epoxy around and i would like to give it another try cause it is nice for people to make their first approches to waves.

i am asking for help (ideas, approaches, keywords) also because english is not my mothertongue and i have a problem to find the right words to search for.

so here is the problem:

• the board is almost in two halfs. underneath is a plastic layer that still keeps it together.

• i cutted out the foam next to the wood to glue + screw supportwood left and right of the two stringers (tried with polyester - it came off)

• there is quite a bit of the original polystyrol missing that has to be replaced/filled

and here are the questions:

• could i mix epoxy and polystyrolballs (smashing one-use-cooling boxes i.e.) as a filler?

• is 2 times 20cm woodsupport on each side enough?

• can i glue polystyrol with epoxy?  the internet has different answers on that.

i have epoxy-resin from a surfshop aswell as glass of 4 and 6oz.

would be amazing to get some help, here are some pictures.

greetings

dulf

Those boards are very inexpensive here in the U.S…  My first preference would be to simply replace it with another one.    If you’re getting into doing repairs then you could save this one for use as a donor.  You can salvage the finboxes and fins and the leash plug and use the foam for filling holes in other boards with EPS cores.  

If you’re not able to do that then here’s how I would fix it: