First Board. Questions and clarifications

G’day from Melbourne, Australia!

I’m still a beginner surfer (and soon to be shaper) exclusively surfing small sometimes mushy beach breaks (for now) just having fun. Smashing it in on the longboard, and tried someones mini mal and had fun on that too. After doing some research Im thinking a midlength egg is a good progression for me and a fine first build. Love my DIY so am really looking forward to this project.

Have landed on this: 

7’ 6" egg (blendingcurves egg c).

21.5" wide. 

2" 9/16 thick. 

1" 11/16 tail rocker. 

3" 5/16 nose rocker. 

1/4" Marine Ply Stringer

48L give or take. 

Flat bottom. 

EPS foam.

Epoxy with a single layer of 6oz eglass all over. 

5 fin box FCS Fusion set up so I can experiment (yes, FCS Fusion because of reasons).

Gore Vent (glass in).

Glass in leash plug.

Rails…advice needed.

And for extra context, I’m 178cm & 63kg (5ft 10in & 137lbs). Tall-ish and skinny. 

I have been feverishly reading through the archives and thought I was ready to build, so have started (and now basically finished) acquiring supplies. I was just going to go for it without signing up here. But now Im second guessing myself…a lot. The design. The process. The supplies. You name it. I think, in a way, I’ve read too much. Too many competing opinions. There is 10 ways to get the same result. Etc. Y’all know how it is. Anyways…where to start?