Blending Epoxy Resin Ding repair

Hi all. Sorry for the question that has probably been answered before but my search didn’t come up with much.

I’ve been fixing my own surfboards for many years, but always have a problem blending epoxy repairs. Even with my best sanding effort, there is often a line between the new resin and the old. I’ve read about “faring” and “blending with a razor blade,” but I have no idea what this actually means in practice. I seem to be able to blend patches just fine with PU repairs. 

Any thoughts? Thanks. 

Repairs are one of the many reasons Epoxy just plain sucks.  If you want epoxy repars to blend in you really need to let your final coat of resin reach its full hardness before you final sand it.  You also have to use extra care not to heat it up as you sand.  Wet sanding the final coat helps a lot with this.

Thanks. Yeah. Part of it does seem related to how soft epoxy stays for so long. Also just thicker. I haven’t been thinning the resin out, and I wonder if that would help. 

I am guessing it is your resin. A quality surfboard epoxy resin witll get the job done and a fast set hardener will get it done quickly. With greenroom resins and west coast fast hardener I can get a ding water proof in 15 mins and perfect sanded repair in 90 minutes. I have a bunch of ding repairs in the works and I will take some pics.  Using peel ply on the rails will also make a perfect lamination and filler at the same time ready for sanding and final coat of epoxy if necessary. attached a rail and fin box replacement with epoxy resin

Charlie-   Are you saying that you cut a piece of Peel Ply and place It over the wet resin repair?  Until hardened and then peel off?

Thanks. What is peel ply? 

Also, could you recommend a resin that comes in smaller quantities, just for basic dings? 

PM address and I will send you some