Moon Tails! (don't moon me-haha)

I’m starting to design my next board & need some advice on a moon tail (which I have never done before). This will be another Kite surfboard for light wind days used mostly in mushy waist to chest high beach break. I’m anticipating the board to be 6’ x 20-1/4" x 2-5/8". Nose at 14-/2"; tail @ 16-1/2". 5 future fins so I can ride either as a thruster or a quad (Though I’m guessing I will mostly ride as a quad. I like how “loose” they are in the wave).

As I have never done this type of tail before ( though i try something new on all my boards to expand my knowledge) , I thought I would put this out to you all for advice.

Is there any formula/ratio for the design of the width/depth of the “moon” versus just “make what looks right”? My thoughts are to extend the line of the rear side fins of the quads all the way to the tail and make that the “points” of the moon. What do you think? and How deep should I make the arc of the moon?

It really is more about what “looks right”.   Although the deeper and greater the “Arc” the more rail to rail and angular your turns will become.  Very much similar to a Fish with a deep butt crack wide tail.  Same theory behind it.  I did one for a guy, but that’s it for me.  I personally think you can get a smoother turn out of a wide Diamond Tail or Round Tail.  Just my 2$.

Hey Lowell-Thanks for getting back to me. My design thought on this board is that it will be a “hybrid” fish in concept. If you’ll remember my build last fall, I built a “tomo vanguard style” board that had a swallow tail.That was my 1st with that tail too, but I had alot of problems laminating & finishing in the “butt crack”. I was lucky that John Mellor came over & helped me laminate the board. I figured the moon tail would be easier to make & yet offer similar ride characteristics to a swallow tail. Plus it gives me a chance to try another “new” type of tail for me.

Chris,