Resin curing times

Do larger amounts of resin have longer curing times? For example, I mix up 24oz of resin which seems to give me about 10-15 minutes of working time for a 6ft board. Now i’m about to glass an 8 foot board and going to use 60oz of resin for the deck. Will I still have a 10-15 minute working time? Or does larger amounts of resin take longer to start to cure? I’m new and not the best glasser so i’m nervous about it gelling up on me before I finish up.

In my experience, no. I’m not an expert, but from the few dozen boards I’ve glassed (epoxy resin) the problem is the longer working time. That’s where you run into trouble when you’re getting into bigger batches & bigger projects. Also, with epoxy resin, it seems to set up faster when sitting in a cup vs spread out on a surface. Temperature, humidity, ratio of mix, there are a lot of factors that can affect set up time. But I have not heard of the size of the batch being a big issue, as long as the ratio of your mix is consistent. I’m sure other more experienced voices will join the conversation.  But my initial thought is to plan for a longer working time on a bigger project, and compensate by having more help, or planning your work to minimize any wasted time & motion.

I’m with Huck; theoretically the resin hardens within its time, no matter how big the batch is, but the time depends on the climate conditions and even more on the kind of volume. If a liter badge is spreaded, it will take longer than in a cup. This is value for epoxy, I do know nothing ablut poly.

And usually the most clear epoxies especially those who will stay clear, have the longest hardening times. My epoxy can be worked for almost half an hour, if not more and it takes at least 5-6 hours it is still tacky; after 12 hours I can touch it, really safe is 18hours or more…