7'8 Magic Template - Build and Ride Report

Recently I started playing with the idea of an all around board with some paddle power that I could take on road trips to the inlaws on the central coast and to my uncle’s place in northern California. I figured out that 7’8 is the longest board I can fit in the bed of my 6’ bed Tacoma with the shell and cab window closed; this board’s intent is to serve as an all around back of the truck board that can have fun in anything from chest high to a bit overhead. 

I’d made an 8’4 magic last year, and it goes well despite my mediocre rookie attempt at a resin tint. This new shape, I decided to postpone attempting another resin tint so I’d have a better shot at the board’s cosmetics looking good. I like to have some color on a board to prevent suntan and extend the life of the board. I like light colors that don’t melt wax and don’t have as much risk of delaminating. 

I decided to keep it simple, and went with a single fin.

The bottom is a very very sligtly rolled entry, mostly flat, continuing pretty flat through the chest, then a slight bit of double concave/vee(?) (not sure the proper term) just basically a few perpendicular swipes of sandpaper on a foam padded sanding block across the stringer right before the fin, fading away out the back. 

Thickness is 3". I weigh 195-200 lbs, I’m 6’1, I like riding big old pigs, I’ve got plenty of leverage and I like foam. For rails, I domed the deck a little and foiled the rails to feel slimmer than the 3" thickness measurement would suggest. The  deck is domed down to an only slightly eggy rail. The deck mostly comes down to a slim but boxy rail with a very slight tuck and a tucked boxy edge in back, probably more resembling a modern shortboard rail and foil than a true retro magic.