Life without swaylocks

This popped up on my google feed this morning. Typical of the kind of pointless babble, half truths and misinformation out there nowadays.

Swaylocks is still the best place to come and have a discussion to sift through the information flotsam and jetsam.

Ha! That’s bad

That’s painful.

“hell no, can’t ride that board, my board volume has to be 26.4L, and that one is 27.2L”

“ok., well, what’s your preferred rocker?”

“uh…my what?”

I don’t think it was that bad, despite the clickbait title. In the midst of the ever-present marketing BS that surrounds most commercial boards, the article provides reassurance to the noob that he or she won’t make a truly bad decision if the five factors are considered and a board is selected that “suits” or “fits” them.

As for Sways being the best place, well it depends…you gonna buy or build your next board?  I long held that I could teach a total noob how to make a decent board in two or at most three efforts, and they’d never go back.  Now, material prices vs Costco popouts seems to suggest that, based on what I see in the water, Costco is far ahead with boards that are inexpensive, light, easy to paddle, durable and won’t unlikely to split someone’s skull on impact.  What’s there for a noob not to like?

I shaped three longboards for a very fit older neighbor and he in turn broke two and lost one.  He wanted me to make another… I sent him in the general direction of Costco or Walmart with the above advantages ringing in his ears.  Part of my redirection was that his payment practices were sketch at best:  in partial payment for some extensive patch work he gave me his daughter’s used board.  She was … displeased.

Costco Wavestorms are a lot of things but durable is not one of them. That’s why/how they are so cheap.