Epoxy resin gloss coat - what grit to start

Ive found lots of threads on what grit to finish on, but wanted to see what grit people start with?

I would like to start with 320 (400 on rails) to reduce chances of burn through, but doesnt seem to knock the shine off very easily.  Starting with 220 (320 on rails) seems to remove shine the easiest. I do keep my sander on lowest setting (600 rpm). Maybe increasing speed would make the 320 remove shine easier?

tried metal brush every couple seconds to clean the 320 and didnt seem to help much either.

Yeah I don’t know I’m just a hobbyist but my initial thought is - If the finish is pretty smooth try 220 wet & work your way up. If your sandpaper is used not new its a little less likely to hit weave. Take your time don’t rush it, and modulate the pressure. Wipe it down periodically as you work.

I usually hand sand so its a little different, but by the final coat its pretty much all wet sand for me.

If it clog to sanding disk, your resin is not fully cured and or your mix was off. Cured it in an oven is best thing to do. Final barcol hardness must be high so with a real sander, vacuumed orbital, good sanding grit made for plastic sanding, like abranet, you can start with a lower grit around 180 then move to 240, etc fast with perfect finish. The key for sanding is to use modern products designed for sanding. Many board builder move to them now, specially with epoxy. 

1 Like

Thanks Huck. My only real trouble spots for weave are the nose and tail right on the rails. Flats are fine. Maybe I should be sanding these areas (rails on nose and tail) by hand as well. I have been using The blue super soft pad on power sander for rails (medium pad on flats).

i usually start wet sanding after 320, but thats just an arbitrary point I picked. Could certainly try wet at 220 as well.

i always make a list of things to try on my next board to improve, ill add these. Simple enough to give a try.