Bing Pipeliner East Inspired...

Thought that I’d chime in and share this current project!  So I was looking for a ‘new’ vintage longboard… something to shake up my day to day surfing, and to take out for a different perspective on things.  Having had a number of great old boards over the years, a Yater Spoon, a Hansen Superlight…  But the more I got to thinking, the more I came 'round to the opinion that a classic board, shaped by a friend, would have more meaning for me than an oldie (as much as I like them…).  Valuing what exists in terms of friendship, craftsmanship and stoke in this world of surfing that I’m into.

So, I asked Balsa if he’d agree to shape me a board.  First order in a long time, since I’ve been shaping all my own for the past ten years or so.  After he got over the surprise , and graciously agreed, we were on the lookout for a model. (The reasons I’m only shaping in wood, and not glassing at all are in the Skin
Cancer thread, but more importantly, I wanted this board to reflect a
perspective other than purely my own, I wanted it to be a shared deal) And this is the board that’s been haunting me for a while:

The Bing Pipeliner East.

Pipeliner East?  Well, here’s a peek at one for those of you who haven’t heard of the beast.  Sorry, I’m terrible with inserting photos.

http://www.usvintagesurfauction.com/auction/APViewItem.asp?ID=73

Does anyone have any information on this model?  I have only seen one, about fifteen years ago, that was nearly identical to the board on the link.  I’ve heard vague tales of a limited production run, slightly wider and flatter than the standard Pipeliner, with almond-shaped but slightly fuller rails… is this ringing bells for anyone?

Balsa will have to pop in with the photos thus far, but I wanted to say thanks for what he’s undertaking!  We started with a Just Foam 9’8" three stringer, and from there he took the initiative to go way above and beyond the call of duty.  You’ll see what I’m talking about here soon.