Planers? Bosch/Makita

Hi im new to swaylocks, been shaping for a couple of years now. I think its time for me to invest in a new planer. I cant decide which one to get.

I live in ireland and as far as i know there is no one over here who does any mod kits.

I have looked at bosch and makita, but the bosch gho 40-82 looks to be the best

Does anyone have any feedback and advise for me? Thanks

Go the Guiness!

similar thread over here…

http://www2.swaylocks.com/forums/hitachi-bosch-planer-mod-kits

older info, but discussion of a few diff planer types, depending on whats available in yer locale.

ear protection! I’m tinnitus all over the place these days (mostly confined to the ears thankfully).

im upgrading the tools in the shop as well and sitting here at 4am suffering complete planer overload…

bosch or makita :wink:

as
tools go, i own heaps of bosch and have had years of valuable service
from them…the mod threads on the makita are interesting to say the
least, but forking out on a decent tool and hacking it apart makes me
nervous…

to me the Makita KP0810 seems like the go, i like the look of the handle over the bosch.

what did you decide on in the end? how’s it working out for you, interested whether you went on the mod route?

on the flip side i’m intrigued but these cheapo planers, ithe positioning of the handle is a little more upright…

http://www.lambopowertools.com/special-offers/900w-planer.html

waiting to hear on shipping but for the price, may be a better candidate for hacking into…dust extraction on one side only though