polishing paste problems

hi all :slight_smile:

i have been polishing for the last two years, but lately have been having some problems getting hold of the polishing paste i normally use (3m perfect-it fast cut (green top)) and so have been using another one, i forget what it is called. But have been experiencing problems with it, it seems to only get scratches out when it is getting too dry and therefor hot which in turn is ‘burning’ the boards (which i obviously dont want!!)

Also the buffing heads I use seem to get worn down after doing about a weeks worth of polishing (10 boards varying from 5’8 to 10’) so any ideas would be great thanks.

If anyone has any ideas of other pastes or heads to use i would be greatful

:slight_smile: :smiley: :smiley: :slight_smile:

Howzit willoughby, There is a rubbing compound that the factories use and I used it for years and years but I am having a brain freeze and cant remember the name right now but it work great and no heating up. I used to keep a wet towel on the end of the board and would wet the board as I was polishing and that also kept the board from heating up since those pesky little burn spots are a nightmare. I bet if you post a question about rubbing compouns in the general disciussion that somebody with a better memory than mine will have the answer about the name and I know that Fiberglass Hawaii sells it and I think most all the factories use it and it comes by the gallon. After I post this I am going to see if I can find it and will post the name for you. Aloha,Kokua