"Apprenticeship"

Hey,

I’ve got several boards under my belt, and last ones are looking pretty professional. I’m looking for anyone willing to take someone under their wing for cheap, or even free (depends on the particulars), so I can hammer out some parts of the process that are still causing me trouble and advance my skills, too. The only condition I’d ask for off the bat is that the jefe be willing to talk about the process and let me observe.

I can send pictures of boards if that helps.

I’m a school teacher by trade… I am used to making a pathetic salary. For the love or nothing.

Vagabond hails from Rhode Island.

That would be unfortunate. But thanks, I’ll check it out, Otis.

what the hey?

where do you live then vagabond? how can someone offer to show you anything if you don’t mention a location?

Sorry. I was replying to Otis’ sign off comment, “Google… etc.” Didn’t realize what it was at the time. Thought it was his suggestion.

Yup, Otis is right. I live in Rhode Island. I am, as the name hints, transportable, though depending on the gig and timing. Right now I’m signed up to teach one more semester at a community college here. So, I’m totally available in January but potentially sooner (again, depending on the gig, etc.)

Thanks.

Vagabond, This might be a longshot. 

Gary Hanlon Ia not only an incredible shaper He is also a teacher. Gary works out of Moonlight glassing . I would send out an email to Moonlight or Surfy Surfy. Everyone there are pretty good people. They have been making boards since Noah gave up the Ark for  a Longboard. They know and have glassed boards for some of the best shapers in the industry. You just never know who will talk in the door, looking to get a board glassed.

The short of it is part time work going to kids who live at home w/ the folks or who have other part-time stuff going.

The long or longshot of it is, …not going to hire anyone w/ no exp. who isn’t already situated locally else they be responsible for them.