"it looked like you were riding a mal !"

[marty's comment today , while I rode a right in front of him on my 6'6 quad [yes , the swell picked up in 5 hours , yewwww !!]

so ...

does anyone else get this comment ?

you [us] older guys , if you [we] ride single fins and mals a lot , and then jump on shortboards for a while ...as I have been doing for the last two months now ...

[ perhaps my style is "set in stone" , and maybe that relates a bit to my opening sentence , plus the recent "front foot and retro back foot surfers" thread ...]

....DO you adapt your style / stance , when you switch back and forth between , say , a 9' single fin longboard , and a 6-6'6 thruster / quad ?

cheers !

ben

Doing drop knee turns and Quasimodos on your 6’6" are a dead giveaway your style hasn’t changed back yet.

yes i'm sure but joking aside ...

"  ....DO you adapt your style / stance , when you switch back and forth between , say , a 9' single fin longboard , and a 6-6'6 thruster / quad ? " *

comments please ?

I'm sure there would be PLENTY of people here who ride mals AND shortboards ,  not just one OR 'the other' ?

I very rarely post questions here , so it would be nice to get some answers from people , please ?

* if the 6-6'6" quad thing is limiting responses , let's throw it open to 'multi-finned shortboards' in general , eh ?

cheers guys !

ben

I would say not really but I do notice when I change from my 9’ pintail noserider to one of my short baords it feels like I am really killing it when I go to hit the lip. Maybe a illusion but it sure feels good but regardless of board I try to stay in pocket as much as possible regardless of baord and if I am gliding or going top to bottom. I change it up w/ my quiver a lot but don’t understand surfers who claim longboarding or hull rding kills short baording for them.

5’6" CB Bumblebee 5 fin thumbtail

5’9" Ci Robber twinner swallowtail

5’11" Stretch F4 quad battail

6’10" Fineline MP 2+1 diamondtail