reverse foiled fins, any history?

What is the effect of reverse foiling fins? I picked up some old books from an antique shop. One is naval architecture, the other is all about yacht racing and design. The later has a lot of intersting data compiled from tests done on sail types and configurations, keels, and hull design. Also some some data that seems loosely related to the shark skin fin that Mr. Thrailkill is working on; its about the surface of a duck shot from different angle with light shining form different directions to show the dimpling. Pretty cool stuff.

Anyway my mind is reeling so I thought I’d ask you guys rather than beginning experiements.

I have no experience with them, but my thought would be that it wouldn’t work so great in surfing… i know that, at least with aerodynamics, having a sharp leading edge into the wind creates a sudden cut in the air. Because the chord is positioned in the back, this means that the leading edge would be more flexible and create turbulent air due to said leading edge “fluttering” in the force of the wind. Also, in hydrodynamics water sticks to convex surfaces, this would mean that rather than “releasing” off the back of the fin, the water would be trying to grab at the thicker section. 

I’m pretty sure that this is why a surfboard naturally wants to turn around when riding backwards. I’m sure you could overcome the tendancy for the board to want to spin by placing the fins at the tail, but i still think it will create more turbulent water than you want… not to mention it would make the leading edge the sharpest surface of the fin. You might as well surf around with samurai swords on your board

I agree with shushka.

A sharp leading edge will create an abrupt change in flow and therefore it will make the fins stall faster.

If you place the thickes point more back on the foil, the trailing edge becomes steeper which will increase the drag.