help with boardcad ?

Can anyone help me with a boardcad longboard design Im working on ? Im having 2 problems because i’m not very good with computers.

1. I need to take off 15mm from the rails and square them for some paulownia rail bands
  2. I’m having trouble exporting to a file on my PC so I can send to the cnc guys. Ive tried lots of programs , Autodesk fusion 360, rhino3d blender ect nothing will open. I tried as suggested exporting nurbs dxf.
    Anyone willing to design for me if i send all the dimensions ?
    thnx

Forget it. To cut a long story short, it’s better to go it manually with a handsaw etc.

The long story:
The various surfboard design programs are mesh 3D. Basically this is like a photo rather than a full record of how to draw the thing at any scale (parametric) . Like a photo, if you zoom you just end up with massive pixels.

CNC needs a pathway but for some technical reason I don’t understand, a mesh isn’t enough like it is in 3D printing.

So at this point you could try to use the mesh to make a proper CNC’able model or simply start again. You can use the mesh to help you make a parametric model but it’s easier to start again from lofting slices… I haven’t yet managed that myself yet though it should be easy…

1 Like

Bwana-
What is the preferred format of your CNC guys? What software are you familiar with for design?

jrandy,
The cnc guys said DXF format, Im using boardcad and just basically tweaking their longboard template. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated

Bwana-
Is this what you are trying to do? Hoping this thread stays in play until some guys like charlieukusa or red_boards join the party.
What sort of machine are they using? Will it be a sled cut or 3D machining project?
If the DXF of the NURBS didn’t work, are there other file formats that work for them?

Kookie-